urine testing

I received an e-mail today with the following comments:
The Urine Test:
“Like a lot of folks in this state I have a job. I work, they pay me. I pay my taxes and the government distributes my taxes as it sees fit. In order to get that paycheck, I am required to pass a random urine test, with which I have no problem.

“What I do have a problem with is the distribution of my taxes to people who don’t have to pass a urine test. Shouldn’t one have to pass a urine test to get a welfare check because I have to pass one to earn it for them??

“Please understand I have no problem with helping people get back on their feet. I do on the other hand have a problem with helping someone sitting on their ass. Could you imagine how much money the state would save if people had to pass a urine test to get a public assistance check?????

“Please pass this along if you agree or simply Delete if you don’t.
Hope you all will pass it along, though. Something has to change in this country and soon!!!!!”

I usually don’t respond to forwards, but I thought I’d give a response to this one. I thought I’d share it with you, too, so here it is:

I, personally, have never had to take a urine test for any of my jobs, and I go back and forth between how I feel about them. In general, I think I’m against them, as unless you’re a professional sports athlete and they’re testing for banned substances, then why are they testing you? If you’re capable of doing your job, does it really matter what your urine (or blood) contains? If the reason is to see if you’re doing something illegal, then why don’t we test EVERYONE all the time? However, then you’re @ a place which might be deemed invasion of privacy and/or unlawful search and seizure.

Part of my beliefs, too, might stem from the fact that I don’t see why alcohol is legal (with certain restrictions) and marijuana is not. If something is deemed illegal, as marijuana is, is there really anything that shouldn’t be done to catch people who are breaking the law? I recognize the ideas of warrants and totally support them, but if I haven’t smoked any marijuana, I have nothing to fear by letting you test my urine and thus I really don’t feel it’s any invasion of my privacy because I have nothing to hide. But is it the government’s (or an employer’s) right to be able to check my urine just because they want to? I’d have to study up on the rights pertaining to discrimination based on criminal history and the like, because, as I said earlier, if I can do the job you want me to do at the level which you require, what’s the big deal if I smoked a joint on Friday night when I had Saturday and Sunday off?

So there’s a bit of my mind on the subject. Like I said, I don’t have extremely formed ideas on this and think it’s a good and interesting debate. I’d love to hear if you have any opinion on the issue. Do you have random urine tests @ your job now?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

