“the true meaning of life”

So if you’ve been attending my blog, I’m sure you’ve noticed the wonderful picture of the clothes handing on a line.  Those are my clothes (mostly boxer shorts, its true) from this past summer in Milwaukee.  It was during one of the times where I had a lot of laundry and could do a load of “blue” along with whites and darks.

Some have been intrigued by the shirt hanging at left, and I thought I’d share with you what that shirt actually says, as I’m wearing it today:

“We are visitors on this planet.
We are here for ninety
or one hundred years
at the very most.
During that period,
we must try to do something
good, something useful,
with our lives.
If you contribute to other
people’s happiness, you will
find the true goal,
the true meaning of life.”

H.H. the 14th Dalai Lama

I think that speaks to the great connectivity of all of our lives and how the happiness of one is so very connected to the happiness of others, just as the pain of one is connected to the pain of others.  Do we live our lives like that, though?  Do we try to see and act that, as Jesus said, when you do this to “the least of these (a phrase that I don’t particularly like in itself, but it’s the phrase), you do it to me?”  Jesus’ message here is truly that we are all one.

How would your life be different if you saw the suffering, pain, oppression, and struggle of others was your own suffering, pain, oppression, and struggle, too?  I encourage you to answer that question and try to make whatever changes are necessary.

4 Responses to “the true meaning of life”

  1. starry nite says:

    very inspiring

  2. Really nice! By the way where did you get that image?

  3. Very nice! From the way where did you get that picture?

  4. Wow. Interesting point of view. I liked how you covered this
    topic…. A few issues I dont accept but hi… thats a new standpoint.
    I am super keen to study your next post. Are
    you able to make the next one more thorough? Thanks :
    )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

