my 25 favorite movies of the 2000s’ first decade

Saturday 19 December 2009

Whether you believe and realize it or not, we are only a few short days away from beginning a new decade!  It’s hard to believe we are 10 years beyond all the Y2K fiasco and the days of the 1900s.  While the end of a year is always a good time to make a list, the end of a decade seems even better to me, especially for something like movies.

According to my records, I have watched 328 feature-length films make in the decade of the 00’s (which some are calling the “naughts”).  That list is early decade heavy, as I’ve only seen 10 movies thus far made in 2009.  (All my years and information are based on that given on the Internet Movie DataBase.)  That being said, a more complete list might be made in a few years when I’ve had a chance to catch up further on recent movies in a way similar to what I’ve done for movies of the earlier part of the decade.

(Upon thinking about how many movies I might have watched in the past decade, it’s easy to calculate from the above stats that I’ve averaged about 2.7 movies a month.  However, as that only accounts for “recent” movies and not older movies watched during that time, I’ve watched far more than 328 movies that last ten years, upping my average a number I cannot count.  However, since my records indicate I’ve watched 725 movies in my life, I’d guess I’ve watched more than half of those in the past 10 years.  But I digress…)

So, I wanted to share with you in the remaining days of this decade my 25 favorite movies of the past 10 years.  I must note that this list only contains movies I’ve seen, which may not include some you would put on your list.

Before I jump off with #25 today (and continue on with about two every day through the end of the year, with a few surprise lists included, too, to keep you on your toes), here are a few notable movies you won’t see on my list simply because I haven’t seen them yet!

Avatar, Das Leben der Anderen (The Lives of Others), Der Untergang (Downfall), Inglourious Basterds, Napoleon Dynamite, Sen to Chihiro no kamikakushi (Spirited Away), Sin City, Up, V for Vendetta, WALL-E, and any of the Bourne series
(You can see a list of every movie I have seen here: peliculas de eric)

I’d love to have comments along the way, too!

And now,  without any further ado, let the list begin!

#25: (500) Days of Summer (2009)
The only movie of the year to make my list, I enjoyed this movie for a few reasons.  Firstly, the script is like no other, both funny and true-to-life.  It’s a love story told all out of joint, non-chronologically, focusing on the ups and downs of a relationship and recognizing there are tons of feelings that accompany anyone who strives for love.  Some might call it “post-modern” in it’s approach to storytelling, which I of course fell in love with!  Plus, it stars the lovely Zooey Deschanel (a lovely actress AND singer — you’ll see her again on the list!) and Joseph Gordon-Levitt of 3rd Rock from the Sun fame, who was perfect for his role.  It’s optimistic without being (overly) sappy, at least for this viewer, and I’d love to see more creatively written “love stories” like this one.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers