my favorite movies of the 2000s, #11 and #12

I’m hoping you’re enjoying counting down the days until the end of the year by counting down my favorite movies of the decade!  If you haven’t read previous posts, use the links below to see the other movies on the list so far, and get ready for the top ten, soon to be unveiled!

#25: (500) Days of Summer (2009)
#24: FLOW: For Love Of Water (2008)
#23: In The Bedroom (2001)

#22: House of Sand and Fog (2003)
#21: The Revolution Will Not Be Televised (2003)

#20: Wo Hu Cang Long (2000)
#19: Le Scaphandre et le Papillon (2007)

#18: Hable con Ella (2002)
#17: The Wrestler (2008)

#16: Revolutionary Road (2008)
#15: Hedwig and the Angry Inch (2001)

#14: Hotel Rwanda (2004)
#13: Elephant (2003)

#12: Moulin Rouge! (2001)
The highest movie/musical on my list, even though almost all the songs are not original to the movie itself.  I pretty much love everything about this movie: the music, the story, the fun had by all.  While it may not be all fun and games (I mean, you need some conflict to drive any story), it’s commitment to beauty, freedom, truth, and love throughout is ultimately uplifting.  “Come What May,” my favorite song in the movie (and an important part of the plot), recognizes the challenges of love and relationships and the sadness that can happen when love is lost.  Ultimately, it’s a movie for the romantic and the realist in me, which really is a perfect combination.

#11: Juno (2007)
When I read the brief review of this movie in Entertainment Weekly (this was before it blew up), I knew it sounded like the kind of movie I’d enjoy.  When I saw it in the theater (still before its huge popularity), I was not disappointed.  It’s an eccentrically funny movie about a serious topic: teen pregnancy.  It has the quick wit and sardonic wisdom of the Gilmore Girls (a favorite TV show of mine) with dialogue you’d never heard in real life.  You laugh at and with the quirky characters as they make the best out of the situations set before them.  Ellen Page and Michael Cera make a great “couple” as Juno and Bleeker, stumbling through a challenging situation neither of them signed up for.  I saw this movie three times in a theater and a few times on video now, and it still makes me smile – a good indicator for any movie.  (It has a pretty sweet soundtrack, too.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

