graduation

Last night I was honored (truly honored) to take part in the graduation ceremonies for Shalom High School, the school I’ve been teaching math @ these past 9 months.  We had 20 graduates receiving diplomas, and the church (next door, where I attend) where the ceremony was held was packed.  It was insanely hot, but family and friends came to celebrate with these students their wonderful accomplishment: a high school diploma.

It was a very moving experience for me.  Since Shalom is so small, I feel like I’ve had a chance to get to know each of the graduates in some way, and many of them I’ve helped in a personal manner along the way.  These students, many of whom were given up on in other environments, were realizing their dream of that diploma, and it was hard not to cry.  If only for those 60 minutes, I felt like all the work and struggle and frustration I’ve experienced in my days here was worth it.

And really, isn’t that what life is like?  You work and work, seemingly with no reward, and many times you may never get one; but then, maybe just for a split second, you see that what you’ve done has made a difference.  I don’t know where life will take these students, but I know they’re better off than they would be otherwise and are headed in the right direction.

What are you doing to change the world?  Even if you feel like it may be an uphill battle with no end in sight, go and do it, because one day you’ll have your reward.

One Response to graduation

  1. Peg Bjorlin says:

    You are a very special person and I am sure you made a difference in the lives of those 20 graduates.

Leave a Reply

