spears redux

I’m not usually in the kind of place that sells a magazine with a name like “Blender” (I don’t recommend following that link but kind of felt obligated to put it there), but I had to get some prescriptions filled, so I found myself in just such a place today.  I’m not sure why it caught my eye, but there it was: Britney Spears on the cover.

I was a bit surprised and curious as to why she she had posed for such a cover in “her condition” (I was going to put a link to that, but I didn’t really feel like looking up articles about Britney Spears on the Internet — I’ll let you handle that if you want to), but I only needed to read a little bit of the cover to discover exactly what had happened:

“TRUTHINESS ALERT: THIS COVER IMAGE IS A COMPOSITE PHOTO.  BRITNEY DID NOT POSE FOR THE PICTURE THAT, SADLY, IS NOT HER BODY.”

It gave me quite the chuckle, to be sure — but I had, in fact, picked up the magazine, right?  Wasn’t that there intention?  Isn’t the cover supposed to be selling the magazine, right?  If I were a little more free with my money, I might have actually bought it (or read the article in the store).  I didn’t actually read any more than the cover, so I’m kind of wondering if the body double even gets any credit.

In a way, I suppose it’s a comment on our culture in itself: You want celebrities?  We’ll give you celebrities, no matter what we have to do to give them to you (be it Photoshopping one together for the cover of a magazine or chasing their vehicle at racecar speeds in order to get a picture in edgewise).

Let’s just quit the idol worship and realize that there is way too much to be had in our own lives to be wasting time worrying about what’s going on in the lives of those we’ve only seen on a screen or in print.

Leave a Reply

